WhereNext Experiences

Volcán de Fuego, Guatemala
Volcán de Fuego, Guatemala

Volcán de Fuego

Eruption over Volcan de Fuego at sunrise seen from Acatenango
Photo by Alain Bonnardeaux


Central America


Central America

Keyfacts icon

Key facts

Capital: Guatemala City

Location: Central America, bordering the North Pacific Ocean, between El Salvador and Mexico, and bordering the Gulf of Honduras (Caribbean Sea) between Honduras and Belize

Government: Republic of Guatemala

Currency: quetzales (GTQ)

Area: 108,889 sq km

Population: 17,422,821 (July 2021 est.)

Languages: Spanish (official) 69.9%, Maya languages 29.7% (Q'eqchi' 8.3%, K'iche 7.8%, Mam 4.4%, Kaqchikel 3%, Q'anjob'al 1.2%, Poqomchi' 1%, other 4%), other 0.4% (includes Xinca and Garifuna); note - the 2003 Law of National Languages officially recognized 23 indigenous languages, including 21 Maya languages, Xinca, and Garifuna (2018 est.)

Religion: Roman Catholic 41.7%, Evangelical 38.8%, other 2.7%, atheist 0.1%, none 13.8%, unspecified 2.9% (2018 est.)

TimeZone: UTC-6

Tel Code: +502

Join logo

Join us on our journey.
Experience more.

Join our newsletter to stay up to date.
No spam, ever.

Let’s stay in touch! Let’s begin the adventure.